Propelling “my life” forward

Yesterday, a group of women gathered together to discuss, “Raising children for a life Worth Living.”  There was some discomfort (my presupposition) as it was realized that this conversation is about us.  There is nothing to fix, no special technique, wall or sticker chart.  Essentially, in my world, Super Nanny is wrong and you will have to get honest about your experience with yourSelf and with your experience with yourSelf with your child.  As always, I got more.  I paid attention and received more awareness of what my truth is.  To the women in the room, thank you.  Thank you for your willingness to breathe through whatever energy came up.

Children are the gift that just keep on giving.  In my world, they are.  As I get honest as to the way I was moving through my world when I was pregnant and the first few years of my child’s life, I get information and gain awareness that I can pay attention to as she moves through the world.  This is still a presupposition, yet it is one in which the information is less distorted and puts the focus on me.  As I become more aware of how the influences on my life formed my culturally conditioned beliefs, values and attitudes, what truths did I develop on everything that were just opinions and are not from my deep instinct and knowing  and I can dissolve that which does not propel my life forward as an adult.

My life changed yesterday, I became more.  My relationship with my daughter last night, felt more real.  I was present, she was present.  I can look her in the eyes.  Lucky me.  Thank you to each of you.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Louise LeBrun
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 14:21:32

    Sandy,
    I read your words and I am filled with hope for us all! Before I can ‘raise’ my children, I must first grow up… and see through my own eyes. In that moment, I see the world I have shaped for myself – and my power to shape my world.

    Thank you! Thank you for your courage; and for being willing to put your head in the mouth of the lion. There is no greater cultural roar than that of the myths associated with parenting and the so-called intact family.

    What a journey you’ve begun!

    Aloha and a hug,
    Louise

    Reply

Leave a comment